Quick Facts on Reserve Bank of India

RBI established on 1st April, 1935 under RBI Act 1934.
RBI was nationalised in 1949 under the Banking Regulation Act 1949.
First Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) – Osborne Smith

First Deputy Governor of Reserve Bank of India (RBI) – James B. Taylor

Present Governor of RBI – Shaktikanta Das

RBI Established on the recommendations of – Hilton Young Commission.

Headquarter – It is located in Mumbai

Zonal offices of RBI Located at – 4 Places, Namely Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai & Delhi

Total number of Regional Offices – 19

Total number of sub-offices – 9, currently RBI has opened 2 more sub-offices at Aizwal & Imphal (Capital city of Manipur)

Total number of Regional Offices in India – 22 mostly in the capital of the state

The central office was initially located at – Calcutta

Currently, the Central office is located in – Mumbai, It was permanently moved in 1937.
Dr. Manmohan Singh is the only person who has been Governor of RBI, Finance Minister and PM of India.