September 15, 2017

Indian freedom struggle timeline

Year wise bullet points on Indian freedom struggle:-

1885: Formation of Congress by A. O. Hume

1905: Partition of Bengal, launching of swadeshi movement

1906: Formation of Muslim League by Nawab Salimullah of Dacca

1907: Surat session of Congress, where congress got split into moderates and extremists

1909: Morley-Minto Reforms, in which separate electorates for Hindus and Muslims was introduced for the first time.

1911: Capital shifted from Calcutta to New Delhi (architectured by Lutyen)

1916: Lucknow session of Congress, where the famous Lucknow pact was signed between congress and Muslim league. Formation of home rule league by Annie Besant.

1917: Champaran satyagraha (champaran is a place in Bihar) by Mahatma Gandhi. His first satyagraha in India.

1919: The draconian Rowlatt Act, Jalliyawallah massacre at Amritsar on the orders of General O’Dyer; Montague-Chemlsford reforms.

1920: Khilafat Movement against British by Shaukat and Muhammad Ali. Launching of non cooperation movement by Mahatma Gandhi.

1922: Chauri chaura, incident in UP and withdrawal of NCM by Gandhi, formation of Swaraj party by Motilal Nehru, C.R. Das and N. C. Kelkar.

1927: Simon Commission to India, which was protested by Lala Lajpat Rai. He died during a lathi charge during the protest.

1929: Passing of Purna Swaraj resolution at Lahore session of Congress under the presidentship of Jawaharlal Nehru.

1930: Dandi March (Salt Satyagrah) by Mahatma Gandhi from Sabarmati ashram (a place in Gujarat). First round table conference in London

1935: Government of India Act

1939: Outbreak of World War II, Resignation of Congress ministries

1942: Quit India Movement, Wavell plan and Shimla conference. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad attended the confer-ence representing Congress

1945: Cabinet Mission Plan which envisaged forming of the interim government and to determine means of trans-ferring power.

1946: Formation of Constituent Assembly under Rajendra Prasad (Muslim league did not participate)

1947: Mountbatten Plan (June 3 plan) and partition of India