March 8, 2020 GKmojo

January 2023


  • 39th President of Brazil – Mr. Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Business, Banking, Finance and Economy

  • RBI launches Utkarsh 2.0 for the period 2023-2025
  • SBI, ICICI, HDFC Bank continue to be systemically important banks (D-SIBs)

  • IRDAI makes KYC details mandatory while purchasing insurance from Jan 1,2023


  • The 21st edition bilateral naval exercise held between the navies of India and France from 16 to 21 January 23 on the Western Seaboard is named – Exercise Varuna
  • Croatia adopted euro, enters borderless Europe club
  • India’s Second Largest Cable Stayed Bridge Opens On Zuari River In Goa
  • The place in Odisha where a new stadium named Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium was
    inaugurated its CM Shri Naveen Patnaik – Rourkela

  • Gujarat got first IVF unit for animals in India
  • Tata Power sets up India’s 1st solar plant for housing society in Mumbai

  • A new book written Shashi Tharoor: ‘Ambedkar: A Life’


  • Odisha Wins World Habitat Awards 2023 For Jaga Mission
  • Kerala Govt’s Year of Enterprises project got recognition for ‘best practice model’ to promote MSMEs

  • The contestant from USA who has been crowned Miss Universe 2022 at the beauty pageant held in New
    Orleans, Louisiana – Ms. R’Bonney Gabriel

  • 2023 Republic Day 
    Chief Guest: Egyptian President Abdel-Fattah el-Sisi

  • Padma Vibhushan
    Art: Shri Zakir Hussain
    Architecture: Shri Balkrishna Doshi (Posthumous)
    Public Affairs: Shri S.M. Krishna
    Medicine: Shri Dilip Mahalanabis (Posthumous)
    Science & Engineering: Shri Srinivas Varadhan (USA)
    Public Affairs: Shri Mulayam Singh (Posthumous)


  • Ronaldo signed for Al Nassr in deal worth more than €200m
  • Mohmmad Siraj became the top-ranked bowler in ODIs

  • The chess player from Tamil Nadu who has become 79th Indian Grandmaster – M. Pranesh

  • 2023 Men’s FIH Hockey World Cup
    Venues: Kalinga Stadium (Bhubaneswar) & Birsa Munda International Hockey Stadium (Rourkela)
    Winners: Germany (3rd title)
    Runners-up: Belgium