Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
September 15, 2017

Indian States and their Capitals

States and Capitals

Some points to remember:-
1) There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India
2) Jammu and Kashmir has two capitals – Jammu for winter and Srinagar for summer.
3) Himachal Pradesh has two capitals: Dharamshala and Shimla.  
4) Guwahati and Ahmedabad are not capital cities.
5) Hyderabad is the joint capital of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for 10 years, after which Amravati will be the capital of Andhra Pradesh.
6) Chandigarh is a city and a union territory in the northern part of India that serves as the capital of the states of Haryana and Punjab.

States and Capitals

  1. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad)

  2. Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar)

  3. Assam (Dispur)

  4. Bihar (Patna)

  5. Chhattisgarh (Raipur)

  6. Goa (Panaji)

  7. Gujarat (Gandhinagar)

  8. Haryana (Chandigarh)

  9. Himachal Pradesh (Shimla, dharamshala)

  10. Jammu & Kashmir (Srinagar, Jammu)

  11. Jharkhand (Ranchi)

  12. Karnataka (Bangalore)

  13. Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram)

  14. Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal)

  15. Maharashtra (Mumbai)

  16. Manipur (Imphal)

  17. Meghalaya (Shillong)

  18. Mizoram (Aizawl)

  19. Nagaland (Kohima)

  20. Odisha (Bhubaneshwar)

  21. Punjab (Chandigarh)

  22. Rajasthan (Jaipur)

  23. Sikkim (Gangtok)

  24. Tamil Nadu (Chennai)

  25. Telangana (Hyderabad)
  26. Tripura (Agartala)

  27. Uttarakhand (Dehradun)

  28. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow)

  29. West Bengal (Kolkata)

Union Territories and Capitals

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Port Blair)

  2. Chandigarh (Chandigarh)

  3. The Government of NCT of Delhi (Delhi)

  4. Dadra and Nagar Haveli (Silvassa)

  5. Daman and Diu (Daman)

  6. Lakshadweep (Kavaratti)

  7. Puducherry (Puducherry)