National Law Universities (NLUs) are India’s most prestigious law schools. The first NLU, National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bangalore was established under the National Law School of India Act, 1986.

Currently, we have 23 NLUs in India offering five-year integrated law courses, as well as postgraduate and PhD courses in law.

The 23 participating NLUs in the order of their year of establishment are:

  1. National Law School of India University, Bangalore (NLSIU)

  2. National Academy of Legal Study and Research University of Law, Hyderabad (NALSAR)

  3. The National Law Institute University, Bhopal(NLIU)

  4. The West Bengal National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata (WBNUJS)

  5. National Law University, Jodhpur (NLUJ)

  6. Hidayatullah National Law University, Raipur (HNLU)

  7. Gujarat National Law University, Gandhinagar (GNLU)

  8. Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, Lucknow (RMLNLU)

  9. Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab (RGNUL)

  10. Chanakya National Law University, Patna (CNLU)

  11. The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi (NUALS)

  12. National Law University Odisha, Cuttack (NLUO)

  13. National University of Study and Research in Law, Ranchi (NUSRL)

  14. National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam (NLUJAA)

  15. Damodaram Sanjivayya National Law University, Visakhapatnam (DSNLU)

  16. Tamil Nadu National Law School, Tiruchirappalli (TNNLS)

  17. Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai (MNLU)

  18. Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla

  19. Dharmashastra National Law University, Jabalpur

  20. Maharashtra National Law University, Nagpur

  21. Dr B R Ambedkar National Law University Sonipat, Haryana

  22. Maharashtra National Law University, Aurangabad

  23. Himachal Pradesh National Law University, Shimla

To get in to these top 23 Law schools start preparing for CLAT now.

Prepare for CLAT:  Click here